A nurse hurt at work in Minnesota should always report their injury. However, what if you do not notice an injury until years or months later?
If your employer or a worker compensation insurance company tell you that you did not report an injury fast enough, the law likely disagrees with their opinion.
Because meeting a lawyer for a consultation to discuss a worker compensation issue generally does not cost money, make a phone call to reduce stress.
Does the level of your license impact the process?
Whether you union or non-union and an RN, LPN, CNA or an APRN, the process seeking insurance benefits is the same.
Yes, nurses belonging to a union should communicate with their union Representative. But, your claim for benefits due to an injury are going to issues above and beyond a union contract.
Is there a different process for union nurses hurt at work?
Many union stewards get this element wrong. No, a nurse’s status as union or non-union will not change the process of seeking worker compensation benefits in Minnesota.
What if a nurse hurt at work doesn’t know it at the time?
As you know, a nurse puts themselves in harms way during every shift. Whether you pricked a body part, came in contact with bodily fluid, or hurt your back moving a patient…sometimes a nurse hurt at work does not know about their injury until months or years later.
Minnesota’s Supreme Court told us in 1958 (which is still good law) that an injury occurs to an employee under workmen’s compensation statutes respecting notice only when a disability appears or becomes manifest. This rule was identified in a case called Rosvold v. Independent School District.
Thus, a nurse hurt at work should apply this rule to their advantage and seek work comp benefits.
Is there a Minnesota law too?
Yes, in addition to the ruling identified above, there is a Minnesota law that supports nurses hurt at work. The rule for notice specific to being injured at work is defined under Minnesota law 176.141.
In addition to the guidelines provided by the Supreme Court and Minnesota Court of Appeals for worker compensation, the rule allows for various 14 day, 30 day and 180 day windows from the date a nurse recognizes their injury.
Benefits a nurse injured at work can receive:
There are four types of work comp benefits in Minnesota. They include:
If you are a nurse hurt at work and need help:
Yes, the worst thing a nurse injured at work can do is not inform their employer. However, nurses do not always know they have been hurt until many years later. For this reason, have your situation reviewed.
Please contact this law office if you are an injured nurse at work and need help.